Florida Action Alert

*** FLORIDA ACTION ALERT! YOUR HELP NEEDED! ***

Last year the AKA stopped both bills at the committee level and we're hoping for a repeat this year but we can't do it without YOU, especially FLORIDA RESIDENTS.

Florida State House Bill 183 (HB183) sponsored by Rep. Kristin Jacobs, and Senate Bill (SB424)  sponsored by Senator Darryl Rouson.

HB183 must work its way through three committees, Criminal Justice Subcommittee, Justice Appropriations Subcommittee and the Judiciary Committee before it goes to a full House vote.   Each committee must have a public hearing after which its either "passed" and moved onto the next committee, or it dies.  The Senate bill must go through the same process. Once the bills make it out of all 3 committees each, they are voted on the full "floor" of the House (meaning a public vote of all members) and the full floor of the Senate. If they pass by majority vote by both chambers and are identical, they move on to be signed into law by the Governor, with an effective date of October 1, 2017.  If they aren't identical, they go through what's called "reconciliation;" we'll cover that process later if needed. 

Email or call your Rep.  Find your Rep, click HERE

A full list of the Florida House of Representatives can be found HERE

Email or call your Senator.  Find your senator HERE

A full list of the Florida Senators can be found HERE

SENDING E-MAILS - WHAT/WHO TO WRITE:

Florida House - Criminal Justice Subcommittee

Alexander, Ramon [D] email: Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov
Altman, Thad [R] email: Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov
Eagle, Dane [R] email: Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov
Grant, James "J.W." [R] email: James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov
Harrell, Gayle B. [R] email: Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov
Latvala, Chris [R] email: Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov
Moskowitz, Jared Evan [D] email: Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov
Raulerson, Daniel D. "Dan" [R] email: Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov
Richardson, David [D] email: David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rommel, Bob [R] email: Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov
Slosberg, Emily [D] email: Emily.Slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov
Sullivan, Jennifer Mae [R] email: Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov

To email the entire committee:

Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov, Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov, Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov, James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov, Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov, Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov, Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov, Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov, David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov, Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov, Emily.Slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov, Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov

LETTER TEMPLATE

To the Honorable Members of the Criminal Justice SubCommittee:

My name is ________, I'm a __-year old __________ from _________ and I'd like to voice my concern about HB183 and companion bill (SB424), bills currently being reviewed by your distinguished committee, then:

-How you came to use Kratom
-What ailments you suffer from, what previous treatments didn't work (prescriptions, surgery, etc.), how long you've been dealing with your ailments, how long you've been using Kratom and how many/what medications you've been able to quit.
-What Kratom means to you (has it given you your life back, have you gone back to work, can you play with your kids on the floor, exercise or travel, etc., something anecdotal about why Kratom is important and should be available).
-Conclusion: Kratom is a safe alternative to pharmaceutical drugs with important medicinal uses and has changed my life, so I'm asking you to please vote against SB424.

*Please be concise and polite, keep it as short as possible, or you will quickly lose their attention*

It is very important that you send a copy of your e-mail to, and call your own Representative and Senator.  To locate them, scroll up and click on the appropriate link.

If it moves on to the next committee, the House Justice Appropriations Subcommittee and the House Judiciary Committee at that time will will update with the contact information.

 

 

Take Action & Join the Conversation

Tell us your story Donate

×

Sign Up

Take Action & Join the Conversation